Why a Blog?

Well, first, let me thank you for taking the time to read this. Thanks for being patient as I drug out the BIG news all week!

I have been thinking about this for over a year. I’ve been praying about this over a year. I’ve kept this very close for over a year. I didn’t want anyone to know about this. This was a decision between God and me. I was so scared to start this. I was afraid that I wouldn’t have the time to dedicate. I was afraid that I wouldn’t have anything to say. I was afraid that no one would even read it.

In November, I was reading my Bible and I came across the prayer of Jabez. You might remember that this was a big Bible study a few years ago. I couldn’t get out of my mind the phrase “enlarge my borders.” I felt like, to me, it was referring to my ministry, my task, God’s unique will for my life. And shouldn’t I pray that God would enlarge my ministry, enlarge my sphere of influence? I knew in my hard heart what the answer was, but God…I’m scared…

In January, I took a cruise with Proverbs 31 ministries. One speaker they had asked these questions:

What does God want you to do that you are scared of? What is God calling you to do? Why are you saying no? Why do you insist on missing out on God’s blessings? Why?

I then realized that my answer…being scared…was stupid. Didn’t I serve a God who created the universe, led Israel across the Red Sea, told the sun to stand still for a whole day, held lions mouths shut, healed the sick, raised the dead, and conquered death and sin forever?????? Yep, that’s my God, and He hasn’t changed. So why be afraid? So, why continue to say NO? So why continue to miss out on God’s blessings for me?

I no longer had an excuse. So here it is…God’s plan for me…a blog to encourage teens and young women to live the Christian life, to handle life with beauty and grace, to laugh, to cry, and to fully embrace being a child of the King of Kings.

11 thoughts on “Why a Blog?

  1. This is so awesome!! I have several blogs (you do not want to see them!) but to be called by God to serve like this is incredible! I’m sure that He’s going to bless this endeavor and I hope to be following along the way.

  2. Hey its awesome that you’ve decided to do this. I was kind of in the same situation a couple weeks ago about being scared to do what I had been called to do, i applaud your faith. Good luck!!

  3. This is GREAT!!! I’m glad you are following God’s call to YOU!!! I will be praying that it is used to give Honor to HIM. Love ya Kim Warren

Leave a comment